Dog License:

June is dog license month for the State of Connecticut. According to Connecticut General Statutes, a rabies vaccination is required before a license can be issued. Dog licenses can be obtained from the Town Clerk’s office at town hall during the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Dog License Fees:

  • $8 for a spayed or neutered dog.
  • $19 for a non-spayed or non-neutered dog.

Fines:

  • $75 for an unlicensed dog picked up by the animal control officer.
  • $92 for a roaming dog
  • $136 for not having an up-to-date rabies certificate

Licenses may also be obtained online by:

* Starting at www.hitslabs.com/register to create an ID

* Create a password, login and create all animal profiles first before making a payment

* Make a payment for one or more dogs in your household

* HITSLab LLC will reach out to the veterinary practice specified on the animal profile and make an effort to collect the required current rabies vaccination records and any proof of spaying or neutering. The pet owner is responsible for these if not provided within a week by the veterinary practice.