Water Pollution Control Authority

View Water Pollution Control Authority Agendas | View Water Pollution Control Authority Minutes
Name Term Phone Address
Barry Stratton (D-Vice-Chair) 02/21/2007 to 07/31/2010 (203) 458-3360 43 Sam Hill Road
Joseph Nugent (U-Chair) 06/06/2005 to 07/31/2006 (203) 453-4034 423 Whitfield Street
Lawrence Marcik (R) 08/02/2004 to 07/31/2007 (203) 453-1069 126 Sheep Pasture Road (Mad)
Kevin Clark (R) 07/16/2018 to 07/31/2020 (203) 457-8754 1165 Great Hill Road
Vacancy (D) 09/02/2014 to 07/31/2017
Brendan Mauer (R) 03/02/2015 to 07/31/2018 (203) 453-5913 23 Woodruff Drive

ESTABLISHED: Established as per Section 7-246(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes which states that any municipal sewer authority in existence prior to October 1, 1978 will be the Water Pollution Control Authority.

CHARGE/DUTIES: The Water Pollution Control Authority is charged with the preparation and update of a water pollution control plan.

ELECTED/APPOINTED: Appointed by the Board of Selectmen upon recommendation of Town Committees.

MEMBERSHIP: Six regular members. Officers include Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary Sub-committee includes publications, budget, land economic development, and election of officers.

LENGTH OF TERM: Four year terms.

MEETING DATE/TIME/PLACE: Regular meetings are held on the first Monday, three times a year, 7:30 p.m. at the Town Hall.

EXPERIENCE AND/OR INTEREST NECESSARY/PREFERRED TO BE A MEMBER: Members should have an interest and/or expertise in the environmental field covering water pollution. This includes domestic, commercial, industrial, hazardous and any other waste discharge that can pollute or contaminate surface or groundwater-any such water that can in any way affect human health. Past experience has included civil, chemical and mechanical engineers, environmentalists, lawyers, persons who have served on other town committees that must coordinate phases of their work with the WPCA and individuals who have worked on Environmental Committees for such organizations as the League of Women Voters, Woman’s Federation etc.