Economic Development Commission

View Economic Development Commission Agendas | View Economic Development Commission Minutes
Name Term Phone Address
Damian Gunningsmith (R) 11/19/2018 to 11/30/2022 (203) 453-1802 200 Boston Terrace
Wendy Dockray (D) 12/21/2020 to 11/30/2024 (203) 533-7388 30 Long Hill Farm
Amy Earls (D) 12/17/2018 to 11/30/2022 (203) 453-5276 25 Mafre Drive
Michael Meisel (R) 11/07/2016 to 11/30/2020 (203) 533-5503 55 Marshal Avenue
Theodore Sands (R-Vice Chair) 12/05/2016 to 11/30/2020 (203) 689-5075 411 Mulberry Point Road
Mark Wasserman (D-Chair) 11/06/2017 to 11/30/2021 (203) 901-1115 167 Glenwood Drive
John Sullivan (U) 12/21/2020 to 11/30/2024 (203) 927-0937 25 Ledge Hill Road
Tracy Brent Calafiore (U-alt) 06/01/2020 to 04/30/2024 (203) 623-0013 76 Broad Street
Vacancy (U-alt) 04/03/2017 to 04/30/2018
David Egan (R-alt) 08/06/2018 to 04/30/2022 (203) 464-2781 273 Weatherly Trail
Karen Stephens (D-alt) 12/21/2020 to 04/30/2024 (203) 453-4166

To contact the EDC, please e-mail

ESTABLISHED: Established by ordinance adopted by Special Town Meeting October 1, 1956 which established a Municipal Development & Industrial Commission for the Town of Guilford. Name changed to Economic Development Commission by ordinance adopted by Board of Selectmen at March 13, 1972 meeting as authorized by Sec. 7-136 of Connecticut General Statutes. Alternates established by ordinance adopted by Board of Selectmen April 6, 1993.

CHARGE/DUTIES: The Economic Development Commission is charged to conduct research into the economic conditions and trends in the Town and to make recommendations to appropriate Town officials and agencies regarding action to improve the Town’s economic condition and development. May advertise, prepare, print and distribute books, maps, charts and pamphlets which will further its official purposes.

ELECTED/APPOINTED: Appointed by Board of Selectmen upon recommendation of Town Committees.

MEMBERSHIP: Seven regular members. Four alternate members.  Commission has a permanent subcommittee on tourism. Other subcommittees are formed as needed.
LENGTH OF TERM: Four-year terms.

MEETING DATE/TIME/PLACE: Regular meetings are held on the first Tuesday of every month at 5:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, 2nd Floor Meeting Room.

EXPERIENCE AND/OR INTEREST NECESARY/PREFERRED TO BE A MEMBER: Members should have a strong interest in the economic development of the Town. Experience in a private sector business capacity is desirable but not mandatory.